Back to NSA Club #3, Tournaments or 2007-2008 Season.

NSA Club #3 Local Club Tournament (June 2008)

NSA Club #3 will hold its annual end-of-season club tournament (directed by John Chew) on June 11th, 18th and 25th, 2008. This is what the NSA calls a Local Club Tournament: tournament rules are in effect, you must be an active NSA member to play, and ratings changes are one-third of open-tournament changes. We will play nine rounds (three on each night) in three divisions, assigned according to club championship qualification (if applicable) or club rating at time of registration (if not).

You do not have to be a club member to play, but you must commit to attending all three nights. You do not have to be in contention for the club championships to play, but if you are you must play in the appropriate division.

To register, please pay $10 to John or Lisa by June 4th. Then be sure to arrive promptly each night, as clocks will be started at 7:30 P.M.

The tournament will have three divisions (A, B and C). If you are contending one of the club’s divisional championships (which are based on end-of-year championship ratings), you must play in that division. If you are not, you may still play, and you choose your division based on your club rating at the time of your registration, playing up or down if you are within 50 points of the division breaks 1100 and 1550.

Asterisked players are in the running for (and in serious contention for) the divisional championships, doubly asterisked players have clinched their divisions; other players who choose to play do so solely for the glory of winning this nine-game tournament and for the fabulous cash prizes.

The following players have registered for the tournament (dollar-signs indicate players who haven’t yet paid, exclamation marks those who may need to renew their NSA membership):

A Division (6 players)

Evan Berofsky*
Glenn Dunlop*
Mark Edelson*
Tim Anglin*
Tony Leah*
Zev Kaufman*

B Division (8 players)

Ani Migirdicyan*
Denis Farbstein*
Diane Brown*
Elizabeth Spivak*
Gene Rawlins*
Lisa Kessler*
Lynda Wise*
Vivienne Muhling

C Division (18 players)

Bill Lourie
Criostoir de Brun
Deb Pyper
Eli Shupak*
Eugene d'Eon
Irene Gedney
Irene Kennedy*
Jacob Zavitz
Janet Carrington*
Jillian Bathgate*
Jim Caughran*
Josh Greenway
Merran Dunlop
Pam Stevens
Sharmaine Farini*
Shirley Drucker*
Simon Thompson*
Stan Jeffay*

Please make sure that you are available on all three nights before deciding to play. If you can’t make it one on of the nights, you are still welcome to drop by and play anyone else in the same situation. If you aren't sure what division you are in, please consult the following table. If there are two divisions listed beside your name, you may choose either one. If there's a ? after your name, it just means I've asked you once whether or not you're playing and you've told me you're not sure.

A* Sal Desiato
A* Fern Lindzon
A* Trevor Sealy
A  John Chew
A  Hugh Currie
A  Michael Lancashire
A  Louis Lazaris
A  Stuart Levinsky
A  Adam Logan
A  David Stokoe
AB Roger Cullman
AB Yvonne Lobo
AB Ron Manson
AB Heather McCall
AB Matthew Tunnicliffe
B* Vera Bigall
B* Geoff Gibson
B* Mark Hamilton
B* Don Ross
B  Curtis Akomanyi
B  Garth Hardie
B  Mike Krepakevich
B  Ben Lam?
B  Patrick Lam
B  Kendrick Lo
B  Brenda Megannety
B  Valerie Pedro-Harris
B  Eric Peters
B  Barry Spinner
B  Mark Stewartson
BC Chris Bonin
BC Priya Fernando
BC James Mack
BC Hans Oh
BC Graham Palmateer?
BC Nicholas Schneider
C* Karen Falconer
C* Barry Muskovitch
C* Paul Wigley
C  Shabnam Abdi
C  Cathy Alexander
C  Doug Armstrong
C  Allan Aucoin
C  Brendan Baines
C  Daniel Barna
C  Stephanie Bot
C  Nadine Carpenter
C  Courtney Charnish
C  Evangeline Cheng
C  Cathy Cuffy
C  Susan Dick
C  Jon Fedder
C  Anne Marie Gedney
C  Larry Greenspan
C  Frank Grossman
C  Susan Hayman
C  Jason Hazzard
C  Leo Herdan
C  Megan Hillman
C  Jason Hoang
C  Connie Johnson
C  Phyllis Koppel
C  Lynda Kraar
C  Andre Kreikmann
C  Norma Manson
C  Nafeesa Moorani
C  Rahim Moorani
C  Nancy Mulvihill
C  Bernice Muma
C  Clare O'Brien
C  Jeff Pancer
C  Phil Pivnick
C  Maggie Poulter
C  Judy Roche
C  Karen Ross
C  Susan Rott
C  David Rowan
C  Eric Schiller
C  Stephen Sher
C  Marie-France Skourides
C  Joyce Solomon
C  Robin Temkin
C  David Thompson
C  Joanna Verano
C  David Wein
C  Terry Wine
C  Ben Wu
C  Ruth Zwilling